Marvel Cinematic Universe

mcu

Recently I’ve been experiencing a sort of fanboy renaissance with my film watching, that is, I’m able to watch and enjoy films that are not really good films given that there’s something for the fanboy in me.

I’ve seen a few of the recent Marvel films. Mostly they’ve been pedestrian at best, but I’ve also heard a lot of reports that the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) is great as a whole. Add to this Nelonen showing one of the films every Saturday and me having now seen three of those and kind of starting to figure out the allure of the MCU, I decided to give it a shot and start watching all of the films.

Then I realized that there’s a lot of Marvel TV series on Netflix and had to figure out, how they are related to the overall plot of the MCU. There’s six series that have at least one season released and a further six in various stages of development… I’m not going to watch through 12 TV series in addition to the 15 films currently released (further 10 in various stages of production). Luckily, it turns out that most of those series are mostly inconsequential regarding the MCU plot. I’m going to watch Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D., and sample some of the other series, but I’ll probably be skipping most of them.

The films have been divided into phases (currently 3 phases have released films) that somehow collect films that happen around the same time in the MCU under one phase. The series are not strictly assigned to these phases, but the various recommended viewing orders assign them alongside the films, so they end up in the phases quite neatly. The various recommended viewing orders around the Internet seem to be quite close to each other, but obviously there’s some variation, since no official viewing order has ever been release. I built my own from these sources and I’ll follow it as I progress through this mountain of viewing material.

My Phase 1 effort in planned viewing order (with TV series that I’m going to take a look at and short films added) currently looks like this:

  • Captain America: The First Avenger [2011]
  • Marvel’s Agent Carter season 1 [2015]
  • Marvel’s Agent Carter season 2 [2016]
  • Marvel One-Shot: Agent Carter [2013]
  • Iron Man [2008]
  • The Incredible Hulk [2008]
  • Iron Man 2 [2010]
  • Marvel One-Shot: A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to Thor’s Hammer [2011]
  • Thor [2011]
  • The Avengers [2012]
  • Marvel One-Shot: Item 47 [2012]

Phase 2 looks like this:

  • Iron Man 3 [2013]
  • Marvel One-Shot: All Hail the King [2014]
  • Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. season 1 episodes 1-7 [2013]
  • Thor: The Dark World [2013]
  • Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. season 1 episodes 8-16 [2013]
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier [2014]
  • Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. season 1 episodes 17-22 [2013]
  • Guardians of the Galaxy [2014]
  • Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. season 2 episodes 1-19 [2014]
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron [2015]
  • Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. season 2 episodes 20-22 [2014]
  • Marvel’s Jessica Jones season 1 [2015]
  • Marvel’s Luke Cage season 1 [2016]
  • Ant-Man [2015]

…and Phase 3 (this contains films and I assume series that haven’t been released yet):

  • Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. season 3 episodes 1-19 [2015]
  • Captain America: Civil War [2016]
  • Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. season 3 episodes 20-22 [2015]
  • Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. season 4 episodes 1-6 [2016]
  • Doctor Strange [2016]
  • Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. season 4 episodes 7-22 [2016]
  • Marvel’s Iron Fist [2017]
  • Guardians of the Galaxy 2 [2017]

That’s quite a few films and series to watch…

As mentioned, there’s even more in production with at least 3 more films and 3 more series in 2017 alone. I assume the recommended viewing orders will shift around slightly, once more stuff gets released and I’ll tune this list along the way. In the meantime, I’ll get started on this project…

Leave a Reply

